First Time, Life

Need for Speed

Hello August! It’s my birthday month, and it’s not quite the start I had wished for.

Today, I got my first ever speeding ticket. I was so mad at myself because how dare I think that my morning meeting was more important than my safety and the safety of those on the road with me? In my defense, there was no one else around me. Because I left them all behind, maybe. As soon as I saw the CHP pull out of its hiding place, I knew she was after me. I pulled over immediately. I didn’t play dumb, and I was glad she didn’t ask me if I knew why she pulled me over. I didn’t fight her or disrespect her. I was as calm as I could be, but inside it was a mixture of, “Oh crap! A ticket! I’m late for the meeting! I’m so sorry, God. I’m sorry, Husband!” Yeah all of that. A few minutes later, I was on my way, with a ticket, and about twenty minutes late to my meeting. Never again, I hope.

To make myself feel better, I had HUGE slice of combination pizza for lunch. They must have known I was not having the best day ever, because they loaded that baby! I also sprinkled so much garlic and crushed pepper. Yup, totally delicious.

Anyway, I left work around 4:10pm, and stopped by my parents’ house to play with my nephew and the dogs. Of course, babies and pups are total cure for a horrible day. I didn’t tell my dad about my ticket, which means I have to beat him to our shared PO Box until my ticket comes. LOL. Even though I am married and moved out, I’m still scared of getting scolded by my parents! But u what was waiting for me? A summon for jury duty! Is this real life?!

I need a big glass of mojito. Or wine. Or beer. Or ROOTBEER. Cheers to thirsty Thursday!

Leave a Reply

